Inauguratory

This blog is meant for all who partake of the blessing and the peculiar predicament of being a Christian Jew, or find themselves otherwise connected to or interested in those who are. My hope here is to create a forum, for myself and others, to share thoughts and questions – and hopefully even some answers.

Most resources available to the Christian Jew who puts him- or herself at the mercy of the Internet come from the Messianic movement or Jews for Jesus. To me, the Messianic movement is working to live out an important idea and hope, one that I share and that has in part led to the launching on this page – that of the Jews coming to worship their Savior as a people (even if not the whole people), as God had intended them and as they have been prevented from doing throughout history both by their own leadership and by the Church. However, as a new convert I found myself longing for a community of Jewish Christians rooted in an older Christian tradition. The joining together in reunion of God’s first chosen people is possible within the Church, not by starting a congregation dedicated exclusively to the purpose.

I have found what may be the physical manifestation of this reunion in some churches – Holy Resurrection Orthodox Church in Boston is one of my favorite places. I have also found a small fortune (not quite a wealth) of literature written by and for Jewish Christians. To share these experiences and books and to invite you to do the same is why I felt the need to start this blog. It seems to me that all people, Jews no less and perhaps even more than others, long to be united in Christ, not only as individuals but as peoples – to present ourselves before Him with the larger family given to us on earth. I am not sure of the form in which God desires the Jews to come together (though I’m inclined to think it’s not overly formal), but I trust that He rejoices when we find and support one another.

I am not a theologian, and this blog will likely not be overly theological in character (though who knows what will happen!). Here are some of the questions I have been thinking about that will probably sooner or later make in onto this page:

Family: Thoughts, stories, suggestions for how God means for us to deal with the rejection and hurt Jewish family members experience in the face of conversion to Christianity

Israel: The role of Zionism and the notion of Jewish peoplehood in Christ

Jews and the Gospel: The challenges of speaking to Jews about Christ

and first and foremost…

Jesus and his Family (the Groom’s family): What is the relationship between Christ, the Jews, and the Gentile Church; how can we meditate and pray on it?

Welcome!

About The Groom's Family

I was born in Soviet Russia and grew up in Israel. I was baptized Orthodox Christian in 2006. Today my husband and I live in Northern Virginia. I would love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment