Anniversary!

I am very pleased to announce that today marks one year since I started writing this blog.

The idea of the blog came to me when I was visiting Israel, right at this time last year, for the occasion of my grandfather’s 90th birthday. I was experiencing the usual awkwardness of such visits – going to holy sites and trying to pray in-between family functions, while also maintaining strict secrecy about my Christian identity with my grandfather and most close relatives. I realized just how deeply the distaste of the Jews for Christianity was affecting me: it was as if a part of me hated myself on behalf of the Jews.But then I had a sudden realization: No one was more Jewish than Jesus and his disciples. In Israel, this can be felt strongly. So why was I letting secular Jews and those practicing Judaism define for me what it meant to be a Jew, such that I found myself internalizing their emotional stance regarding Christianity in a profoundly self-destructive way?

These thoughts, I am sure, are not news to anyone reading this blog, but they were fresh to me at the time, and spurred me to action. I wanted to help myself and others break out of this stifling definition and hold up a witness, however small, for the possibility of a genuinely, tangibly Jewish Christianity.

Since then, I’ve not only had a chance to develop my own thinking on the topic, but – much more importantly – get to know a number of you (in cyber-speak, that is). Thanks to everyone who has left thoughtful comments, and particularly to those who’ve reached out to communicate with me over e-mail, or responded to my e-mails. A couple of you I’ve even had the pleasure of meeting in person! All of this has been really fun for me, and I hope that we can continue getting to know each other and build our online Christian-Jewish community.

To which end, I’d like to toss a question out for everyone: What would you like to see on this blog in the coming weeks and months? What are some topics you’d like me to explore (or would like to explore yourself in a guest post)? Are there any interesting people that you’d like me to interview (and if so, can you help me get in touch with them)? Any other ideas (like a survey I could do, or a “top ten list”, or something interactive)?

Please leave comments with your ideas, or e-mail me at my personal address: loksman1 at gmail dot com.

About The Groom's Family

I was born in Soviet Russia and grew up in Israel. I was baptized Orthodox Christian in 2006. Today my husband and I live in Northern Virginia. I would love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Anniversary!

  1. Doron says:

    Brochas and Simchas! Many Happy Returns!
    Orach Chayim – Orach Yeshua our Even HaEzer.

  2. Pingback: Christ is Risen! | The Groom's Family

Leave a Reply

