Rabbis for Jesus

I get very excited when unexpected converts come out of the woodwork. Here is a list (with brief biographies) of rabbis who came to believe in Christ from Joshua Brumbach at Yinon, a Messianic blog. (Thanks to one of the readers of this blog for the reference!)

Some of these are truly impressive and surprising. It is striking that several of them chose not to accept baptism in an established church – some for practical reasons, some because they did not wish to send the message that they were no longer Jewish. The reasoning of Rabbi Isaac Lichtenstein (about whom Brumbach writes in a separate post)  is especially striking:

“I will remain among my own nation, I love Messiah, I believe in the New Testament; but I am not drawn to join Christendom. Just as the prophet Jeremiah, after the destruction of Jerusalem, in spite of the generous offers of Nebuchadnezzar and the captain of his host, chose rather to remain and lament among the ruins of the holy city, and with the despised remnant of his brethren, so will I remain among my own brethren, as a watchman from within and to plead with them to behold in Yeshua the true glory of Israel.”

What a tragedy it is that the Church, originating among Jews of Israel, managed to make itself so foreign that a Jew feels that, to join it, he must reject Israel.

About The Groom's Family

I was born in Soviet Russia and grew up in Israel. I was baptized Orthodox Christian in 2006. Today my husband and I live in Northern Virginia. I would love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rabbis for Jesus

  1. Doron says:

    One Authority stands between the Rabbinate of Grace and the Rabbinate of the Law –
    Yeshua – Archsynagogus!

  2. Rabbi Joshua says:

    Thanks for the mention.

  3. Pingback: Neither Jew nor Greek: a failure? | Between Jerusalem and Constantinople

Leave a Reply

